Pre-Race Jitters….or NAH?

Hey everyone!

A couple of friends and I are going to be celebrating the Fourth of July early in the morning with a half marathon at Sauvie’s Island. We have very different backgrounds and experience going into tomorrow’s 13.1-mile run, so why not share some thoughts and pre-race excitement?


Meet Kale.

12241211_10153275059253581_445710657011465820_n

Is this your first half? If not, how many have you done?
Yes, it is my first half.

How long have you been training?
Well, it started more loosely six months ago when I decided “I am going to do this” after years of dragging my feet. I would say my training got more serious within the last month or two.

What are you wearing?
Top: Nike AeroReact Tank
Bottoms: Nike Zoned Sculpt Tight
Shoes: Nike Flyknit Lunar 3
Socks: Nike Dri-FIT Cushion No-Show Tab

What gear are you bringing on the course with you?
Spi Belt, headphones, iPhone, Nike+ Running App

Any songs/jams on your iPod/phone for motivation?
I have to say, Beyoncé’s newest album, Lemonade will be on repeat. “Freedom” is my power song.

Pre-race meal?
Nervous about this one but I think I am going to go with oatmeal and bananas.

Post-race meal?
Haven’t decided yet… Probably anything within close range.

Any superstitions/routines that you do?
Well since it is my first half, nothing yet. But I am definitely staying away from doing any squats!

If you could design the race course, what would it consist of?
Great views, nature, and maybe some spectators. Having energy from a few people or a crowd is awesome (Portland’s Starlight Run is a great example).

Are you nervous?
Yes, but I don’t get super nervous for anything until right before so I am guessing that my nerves will probably kick in the morning of. I am definitely excited to hopefully cross the finish line though! That is for sure.


And meet OG, the real O.G.

olivia

Is this your first half? If not, how many have you done?
No, I’ve run 4 before.

How long have you been training?
To be honest I’ve not really been training for this half at all, just continuing my normal routine of running 4-6 times per week.

What are you wearing?
Top: Nike Cool Breeze Tank
Bottoms: Nike Epic Lux Run shorts, or Nike Rival Shorts
Shoes: Still no idea, probably Nike LunarTempos
Socks: Whatever’s clean

What gear are you bringing on the course with you?
iPhone, armband, chapstick, headphones, GPS watch, ShotBloks

Any songs/jams on your iPod/phone for motivation?
Always! I’ll probably be rotating between one of the many running playlists on my phone.

Pre-race meal?
A piece of toast with almond butter, half a banana. Coffee/water

Post-race meal?
No idea, but will probably include a Bloody Mary and some sort of grilled food. It’s the 4th of July, after all.

Any superstitions/routines that you do?
Not really, besides take 2 puffs of my inhaler before the start. (Super cool, I know.)

If you could design the race course, what would it consist of?
I’ve never thought about this before, but it would honestly look very similar to the Sauvie’s Island Half course. Little elevation gain, not that crowded, and travels through scenic areas.

Are you nervous?
No, I’ve run this race before. I probably should be more considered I haven’t really trained as much as I typically do but I’m just going to take it slow and enjoy the course this year.


And, well, you’ve met me! (Liffy C., in case you forgot. 😛 )

lcnrcrandIs this your first half? If not, how many have you done?
Nope. This’ll be my fifth. (Wow, I had to count that multiple times just to make sure. I had no idea I’ve done that many!)

How long have you been training?
I’ve been training for Chicago, so technically since April. But the training’s been more laid-back than I’d like to admit. (Shhh!)

What are you wearing?
Top: USATF Nike Singlet
Bottoms: Either Nike Epic Lux Capris or Nike Epic Lux Shorts
Shoes: Nike LunarEpic Flyknit
Socks: Either Nike Elite Crew/OTC or Nike Dri-FIT Cushioned No-Show

What gear are you bringing on the course with you?
Garmin Forerunner GPS Watch, iPod, iPhone, earbuds. And my trusty waist-pack to hold all that gear!

Any songs/jams on your iPod/phone for motivation?
I love building playlists. But I have Macklemore’s “Can’t Hold Us” and Clean Bandit’s “Rather Be” as staples. They’re my power songs!

Pre-race meal?
Definitely water. And possibly a banana or oatmeal. I generally don’t eat before I workout, so I’m keeping it light.

Post-race meal?
I haven’t decided yet. I might just stuff my face with the first thing I see.

Any superstitions/routines that you do?
Biggest one: tape my ankle. I don’t usually use tape, but for events, I prefer to be on the safe side since I tend to roll my ankle very easily. I also like to pee right before I run. (TMI, much?) Oh, and I always put deodorant on the inside of my thighs. Say “no” to chafing!

If you could design the race course, what would it consist of?
I’ve never been to Sauvie’s Island, so I’m just excited to see what the course will be like when I get there! But if I had my pick, I’d like some scenic views and maybe a hill or two (provided that those hills have a really nice, long decline, haha!).

Are you nervous?
A little bit! The last time I ran a half, I wound up injuring myself. But I’ve spent some time in rehab and I’ve been training. I’m treating this as a training run for Chicago, so the plan is to run on the more conservative side. But I’d be lying if I didn’t say that I’m hoping to at least beat my previous race time so I can redeem myself.

 

One thought on “Pre-Race Jitters….or NAH?

Leave a Reply

